The Holt Prize from The Federation Press


At an award ceremony held in Sydney on 25 November 2015, the inaugural Holt Prize from The Federation Press was awarded jointly to Dr Giovanni Di Lieto (Migrant Labour Law - Unfolding Justice at Work in Free Markets) and Dr Scott Stephenson (From Dialogue to Disagreement in Comparative Rights Constitutionalism).

The Holt Prize is to be awarded every two years to an unpublished manuscript that is a legal work of an academic or practical nature. It must be the author's first published book. The winner of the Holt Prize receives a cash prize and a publishing contract with The Federation Press.

Named in honour of the late Christopher Holt, co-founder of The Federation Press, the award aims to foster emerging authors and in doing so continue the legacy of a man who gave many notable academic authors their first publishing opportunity.

The judging panel comprised Justice Stephen Gageler of the High Court of Australia, who is a member of the Centre’s Advisory Committee, Neil Williams SC of the NSW Bar and Professor Andrew Lynch, former Centre Director and presently Co-Director of the Judiciary Project.

Emeritus Professor Tony Blackshield AO, a Centre Associate, spoke about the contribution made by Chris Holt and The Federation Press to intellectual life in Australia before the awards were announced by Justice Gageler. Short-listed finalists, Dr James Watson and Dr Yee-Fui Ng, also received a publishing contract.


Professor Andrew Lynch, Neil Williams SC, Giovanni Di Lieto, Justice Stephen Gageler, Yee-Fui Ng, Scott Stephenson (James Watson unable to attend)

A short account of the award night and of Chris Holt’s personal contribution to legal publishing by Professor AJ Brown of Griffith University is available here.