2015 Constitutional Law Conference and Dinner

2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002
Art Gallery of New South Wales
Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law
8.30 am - 5.00 pm
Fri, 2015-02-13


A major conference on constitutional law, the fourteenth consecutive staging of this flagship event for the Centre, was held at the Art Gallery of New South Wales on Friday 13 February 2015. The event was organised by the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law with the support of the Australian Association of Constitutional Law .

The conference focused on developments in the High Court and other Australian courts in 2014 and beyond. The final panel session discussed the merits and potential design issues of a federal ICAC or anti-corruption commission.

The conference was followed by dinner at NSW Parliament House hosted by Mr Greg Smith SC MP. The guest speaker at the dinner was the Hon Marilyn Warren AC, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria.

The conference brochure contains full details of the program.


Session 1: The Courts of Constitutional Law: The 2014 Term
Speakers for this session:
Professor Rosalind Dixon
The Hon Justice John Basten
Professor George Williams

Session 2: Recent Cases: Federal
Speakers for this session:
Associate Professor Kristen Walker SC
Dr Brendan Lim
Professor Andrew Lynch

Session 3: Recent Cases: State and Territory
Speakers for this session:
Ms Naomi Sharp
Mr Andrew Buckland
Dr Rebecca Ananian-Welsh

Session 4: A Federal ICAC: Would a general anti-corruption commission improve on existing constitutional mechanisms?
Panel for this session:
Professor Nicholas Aroney
Mr Chris Merritt
The Hon Melissa Park MP
Mr Ian Temby AO QC
Moderator: Mr Damien Carrick


Dr Rebecca Ananian-Welsh, University of Queensland
Kuczborski v Queensland

The Hon Justice John Basten, Judge of Appeal, NSW Supreme Court
The Federal and State Courts on Constitutional Law: The 2014 Term

Professor Andrew Lynch, UNSW
Williams v Commonwealth (No 2)

Professor Andrew Lynch and Professor George Williams AO, UNSW
Statistics on the 2014 High Court Term


Dinner Speaker: the Hon Marilyn Warren AC, Chief Justice of Victoria

Executive Accountability in the 21st Century