2008 Constitutional Law Conference and Dinner

2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002
Domain Theatre, Art Gallery of New South Wales
Fri, 2008-02-08

2008 Constitutional Law Conference and Dinner

Brochure (PDF and Word) now available. Special academic rate (PDF and Word) also available.

There have been two changes to the official program since printing. The first of the keynote papers,The High Court on Constitutional Law: The 2007 Term’ will now be given by Associate Professor Anne Twomey from the University of Sydney. Additionally, the paper titled ‘The Scope of Section 75(v): Bodruddaza v Minister for Immigration and Multi Cultural Affairs’ will now be delivered by Mr Graeme Hill of the Victorian Bar. We are very pleased that these distinguished speakers have been able to join the program for this event.

A major conference on constitutional law, the seventh in a series, was held at the Art Gallery of NSW on Friday 8 February 2008. The event is organised by the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law with the support of the Australian Association of Constitutional Law.

The conference focused on developments in the High Court and other Australian courts in 2007 and beyond. It was addressed by leading practitioners, government lawyers, judges and academics.

The conference was followed by dinner at NSW Parliament House, hosted by NSW Attorney-General, the Hon John Hatzistergos.

Speakers at the conference reviewed the key themes and statistics of the Court's work in 2007 as well as recent major decisions.


2008 Constitutional Law Conference and Dinner
Date Friday, 08 February 2008
Venue Domain Theatre, Art Gallery of New South Wales
Session 1: The Courts on Constitutional Law: The 2007 Term
Session Audio [40 MB] 351_Session1.mp3
Speakers for this Session
Dr Andrew Lynch and Professor George Williams
Dr Anne Twomey
The Hon Justice Catherine Holmes


Session 2: Recent Cases
Session Audio [39 MB] 351_Session2.mp3
Speakers for this Session
Associate Professor Graeme Orr
Professor Geoffrey Lindell
Stephen McLeish
Stephen McLeish


Session 3: Panel on the Separation of Judicial Power
Session Audio [40 MB] 351_Session3.mp3
Speakers for this Session
Emma Armson
Mr Graeme Hill
Professor Denise Meyerson


Session 4: The Law and Politics of Judicial Activism
Session Audio [41 MB] 351_Session4.mp3
Speakers for this Session
The Hon Justice Robert French
Dr Janet Albrechtsen
Professor Jason Pierce



Below is the listing of Speakers and their downloadable papers. Click on the title name of the paper to download it.


** This paper has now been published in the Constitutional Law and Policy Review (2008) 10(3).

Other Conference Documents
Dinner Speaker - Justice Susan Crennan, High Court of Australia
High Court Trivia Quiz Table Question 1
High Court Trivia Quiz Table Question 2   
High Court Trivia Quiz